Child Support Attorneys in Portland
Our Experienced Lawyers Can Protect Your Interests
In a divorce or when paternity is established, child support may need to be addressed. This is an amount of money paid by one parent to another to provide for the support and care of a shared child or children. Support is typically paid by the non-custodial parent to the custodial parent, although support is also paid in shared custody arrangements if there is an income disparity between parents or if the child or children spend more time living with one parent than the other.
If you have questions about child support or need help enforcing or modifying an existing support arrangement, Levine Law Center can offer experienced guidance. Our Portland child support attorneys can protect your interests by properly presenting your financial situation, initiating enforcement proceedings, pursuing a modification of support, and representing you in any applicable hearings or court proceedings. Because we handle all aspects of family law and divorce, you can count on our ability to properly handle your child support matter.
Contact our team at (503) 433-8340 today to see how we can help you.
How Much Is Child Support in Oregon?
The foundation for determining child support obligations can be found in Oregon Child Support Guidelines, including an online calculator that can provide an estimate of what support you may be entitled to receive or required to pay.
Child support will be determined based on:
- Each parent’s income
- Any spousal support received or paid by each parent
- Any union dues paid by each parent
- The number of children
- How much time (specifically overnight stays) the child/children spend with each parent
- Any child care costs that apply for disabled children or children under the age of 13
- Any Social Security or other benefits a child receives
- Any other children each parent has living with him/her
- Healthcare coverage costs for each parent and the child/children
Is Child Support Mandatory in Oregon?
Yes, child support is mandatory in Oregon if you have a support order. Typically, orders are obtained through a divorce or custody case; however, you can also seek a support order through the Division of Child Support (DCS) as well. In most cases, paying support is mandatory until the child is 18 years old, but under certain circumstances the paying parent may be required to continue payment until the child is 21.
What Does Child Support Cover in Oregon?
Child support in Oregon is intended to cover the child’s basic necessities, including:
Clothing and shoes.
What Happens if a Parent Doesn’t Pay Child Support?
If child support goes unpaid, parents can take several legal steps to enforce the order. The first step is determining if you want to pursue legal action with a private attorney or through the Oregon Department of Justice Division of Child Support. Every case is different, but hiring a private attorney means you’ll get to work more closely with them as the case progresses. Some common forms of enforcement include wage withholding and drivers’ license suspension.
For those who wish to withhold wages, they can ask for payments to be taken straight out of the payor's paychecks. If the payor owes back child support, then the normal amount of wages taken equal 120% of the original support order. For example, if $100 was owed originally, then $120 can be taken out. This remains in effect only until the back child support is fully paid off.
Contact a Portland Child Support Lawyer
The determination of child support will directly impact your finances and your child’s well-being. Make sure your interests are properly represented by a skilled team of Portland, OR child support attorneys. Levine Law Center stands ready to handle your child support matter to the fullest extent of our abilities, and we can provide the one-on-one support and guidance you deserve every step of the way.
- HOW CHILD SUPPORT IS CALCULATED IN OREGON
- I LOST MY JOB, WHAT IF I CAN’T AFFORD CHILD SUPPORT?
- MY EX ISN’T PAYING CHILD SUPPORT. WHAT SHOULD I DO?
Contact us at (503) 433-8340 to get started!